Reader: The Silmarillion. The Tengwar Script on the Title Page

Silm-TitlePageDid you ever wonder about the Tengwar script adorning the title page of the Silmarillion?

I have. It’s been a little questioning prick in the nape that I know is there, but never got round to assuaging.

Someday, I told myself, I would find out exactly what it said.

Days turned into years, and the world moved on.

Finally, the answer fell into my lap.

Perhaps I might get further than I thought I would with my ambition to blog about the Silmarillion cover to cover.

Fortuitously, I stumbled on the translation, in this post on the tumblr of elfself:

TOP

The tale of the First Age when Morgoth dwelt in Middle-Earth and the Elves made war upon him for the recovery of the Silmarils.

 

BOTTOM

To which are appended the Downfall of Númenor and the history of the rings of power and the First Age in which these tales came to their end.

 

Beautiful and utilitarian all at once. elvish_script_necklace_by_gamerkirei-d5i6y90

4 thoughts on “Reader: The Silmarillion. The Tengwar Script on the Title Page

  1. Eric

    There’s a lot of these title pages out there. Unfinished Tales has one, as does each volume of the History of Middle Earth series. Mostly, they’re just explanations of what’s in the book, though some of the ones for HoME aren’t accurate.

    Most of them mention “John Ronald Reuel Tolkien” and “Christopher Reuel Tolkien” by name, so it seems that more than anything they were included just because they look neat. And hey, I’m certainly not going to argue with that. They DO look neat!

    So all were written by Christopher Tolkien (or at least approved by him). The idea, of course, was borrowed from the Hobbit and LotR, where Tolkien left the runes it as a sort of puzzle. In it, he also mentioned his own name and that of the publisher: “The Hobbit or There and back again, being the record of a years journey made by Bilbo Baggins of Hobbiton compiled from his memoirs by JRR Tolkien and published by George Allen and Unwin”

    Fun!

    Like

    Reply
    1. lurkerinthemirk Post author

      Re ” though some of the ones for HoME aren’t accurate”. So you read tengwar? What can’t you do?

      But I digress. I do remember my UT copy having that. Thanks for the detail about it being Christopher Tolkien’s idea. It’s quite neat, but definitely it looks great. =)

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

